X

bike finally started

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bike finally started

So let me tell u the story of how I got my bike to finally run!
    I bought my first ever bike in march this year.. 2003 katana 600 for 4 grand. The guy started the bike hurting of me, and me not owning any vehicle before though "woohoo it runs then must be great".. Little did I know, it would not for the life of it start.. It would crank and crank and crank, but never fire up...

I am a computer programmer, and work with cobol and jcl and all that mainframe fun, so I sometimes get to be very technical.. Never done any mechanical job ever before, but thought this would be a nice experience..

Got on this forum and read for 2 weeks everyday on carbs and kats not purrrrrrrrrrrrring.. And decided to finally do it myself. Found the carb 102, went though it step by step.. And the stuff that came out of the carbs made me feel a bit better..

Put the carb back on, key in, start the bike..... Doesnt start. I checked the fuel lines, tubes, all seemed well.. Took the plugs out, they were dry black.. I thought dry was fine at the time and ignored the black!! Start it, again wouldnt fire up!!

Cleaned the carbs again, this time soaked the jets and not just spray them.. Struggled to put the carb back together as I just realized that there were small springs that I left out last time.. U know the springs on the doors thingies where the throttle acts.. No reference to them anywhere online.. Figured it out myself after 2 hours of thinking that I screwed everything up.. And it was back together and clean! Went to start it... Same results..

Decided it was the battery, went out and bought a new battery.. Dint start.. Borrowed a voltmeter, with the lights on, it read 11.xx and I was like this should start.. Nadda

Got my sparks out again to check for spark on the frame, they spark, and this time they were wet with gas.. So my air flow and compression must be fine...