X

1st Valve Adjustment... AHH!!

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1st Valve Adjustment... AHH!!

After reading many posts concerning valve adjustments, I still haven't decided if I want to,

a) Take my bike in and pay the 3-400 dollars for a mechanic to do this, including resyncing the carbs, or

b) Attempt this myself, possibly with the help of another rider who feels comfortable with this procedure.

Some folks say its relativly easy, and some have run into some serious problems. To be honest I usually have no concern taking on challenging tasks like this, but, as my KAT is my sole mode of transportation, and I am a newb at best when it comes to engine work, I have adopted some reservations against "winging it". I have a general motorcycle manual from Zimmerman, but it doesn't include valve adjustment procedures. I have the service manual for my bike as well; although that doesnt protect my bike from a beginners mishaps.

So, I was wondering, what do you guys think about it? How did your first valve adjustment go? Is this something that I should attempt to tackle, or not? I really want to learn how to do this, as I plan on riding well into my retirement I have only had a limited amount of time to invest in working on my bike due to school, so I may not be as prepared as I should be this time around.
    I did read on CPs site the walkthrough that Trinc wrote up, but things are still a little cloudy... (http://www.motorcycleanchor.com/katana/trinc/valve.htm)

Any comments, suggestions or help is SUPER appreciated! If there is anyone in the area who has the time to give me a hand, drop me a line! I would be happy to compensate you for your time....

Thanks in advance!

I just adjusted the valves, installed gsxr cams, bought a sync tool and synced my carbs for the first time, i have never done any thing like that before and it was pretty simple.