Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

OK, so I don't know as much as I thought I did.

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OK, so I don't know as much as I thought I did.

Today I tried to clean my carbs but only got as far as disassembly. I read through Carbs 101 and even had it printed out with the pictures while I was working. However, I quickly realized that the carbs I had in front of me were not the same ones as in the picture. I have an 1988 GSX600F, which I thought made it a Pre (right?) which means that Carbs 101 should be the right instructions- however, I found that not to be the case. Does that mean that someone frankensteined some other carbs on there? The ones I have are Mikuni carbs. Here are pictures of them:

I've never done carbs before so I didn't know how to do anything. I took them apart and found a decent amount of rust dust in the bowls and around the jets, but that was about the extent of my cleaning so far. The jets all looked clear and unblocked.

The symptoms I am trying to fix are hard starting, low idle and dying, and dying after warming up. Can anyone tell me where I can find a resource on how to clean these carbs, as well as general advice on how to cure the problems I just mentioned?

Your help is greatly appreciated. When I realized I couldn't just follow the directions I started to get really worried because I'm in over my head- I really don't know what to do, especially with adjusting these things after they're cleaned. I'm mortified that I might not be able to ride my new-to-me bike before the weather gets too cold if I can't get this sorted out. Thanks in advance!
    1988 Katana 600 / GSX600F

Cleaning out the carbs is good, they should run well for like a minute. if you are finding rust and crud in your bowls. you have a rusted gas tank. You need to get a KBS tank rust kit from KBS, follow the directions and treat your tank, then reclean you rcarbs. Your bike should then run good.