X

Sena SMH10

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sena SMH10

Just installed a Sena SMH10. A couple of the guys I ride with have them and love em. It will be fun to talk to the guys I am riding with, answer phone calls and listen to music.

After you've gotten some miles under your belt with the headset, let us know how it works, range, durability, etc. I have been using the Scala units (Rider and Rider V2) for several years, and they have held up pretty well, but flake out after being subjected to a good downpour. I'd be curious to see how the Sena fairs in terms of stamina (the Scala's worked for a full 8 hours of music/phone before shutting down).
    2006 Katana 750 - Daily therapy
    2005 ZZR1200 - Weekend therapy

Comment

I've had a SMH-10 mounted to my helmet for a full year now - absoloutly no complaints. The SENA actually has very impressive range, no problem for regular group riding or if you get split up by a stop-light or line of cars. On a clearer road like an interstate highway, one of my friends was about 3/4 of a mile back and it wasn't an issue. At about a mile we started to experience static, but it only became indecipherable at about 1 1/4 miles. No issues in weather or temperature - I've used this at 14 degrees no problem.

SENA Technologies states it can stand for 12 hours of continuous talk-time/music playback, and they're not exaggerating. I've found myself forgetting to charge it for a week during my normal morning commutes or quick-outings with friends and it hasn't let me down.

My only real complaint is monitoring of battery level is completely useless to the point of guess-work. The 'Low Battery' voiceover happens moments before the unit will shut off. There's also no 'Battery at 50%' or other voiceovers.

The biggest thing that I enjoy about the SMH-10 is the clarity though. I can take a phone call and no one is the wiser that I'm actually riding - even on the highway.