Removing the fairings?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Removing the fairings?

Hi all,

What is the process for removing the fairings on a 2004 Kat? I guess the bottom fairing needs removing before the side ones, but do you need to remove the mirrors before removing the side ones? Is there anything to watch out for when doing this?

And what about when popping them back on, any tricks or not?

It's probably really simple, but I've never done it before. I just figured it'd be best to ask in case you guys have had problems before and can warn me of something to look out for.

Thanks
    fulcrum (aka David)
    Blue 2004 GSX750F
    Life is pleasant. Death is peaceful. It's the transition that's troublesome.--Isaac Asimov
    If you can keep your head, while all around you are losing theirs, then you probably aren't grasping the situation

Crash virginity lost: March 6th 2005

Bottom Fairing comes off before sides as well as mirrors and front fairings (the piece with the third eye and piece below headlight) at least thats how it is on my '01.
    -jason

Welcome to Katriders! Click Here to Register

RIP ROB (AKA BREEZE)

Comment

*note* when removing the "third eye" plastic, push it up a bit before removing it. There are little hooks that hold it in place in addition to the two screws.

In general, don't force anything.
      I don't need a girlfriend... Windows goes down on me everyday!

Comment

Originally posted by KitKat
        *note* when removing the "third eye" plastic, push it up a bit before removing it. There are little hooks that hold it in place in addition to the two screws.

In general, don't force anything.
        Very good point! I forgot about those little hooks on the back there. thanks!
        -jason

Welcome to Katriders! Click Here to Register

RIP ROB (AKA BREEZE)

Comment