X

Do you plug motorcycle tires?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you plug motorcycle tires?

My rear tire has a nail in it. I have not pulled it out. So far, there has not been any air loss. I have not pulled it out because I do not want it to go flat if it is all the way through. If it is all the way through, can you plug a motorcylce tire?

Why you can plug a bike tire most people will say don't do it and just get a new tire.
    Kyle

Comment

It's not recommended to plug a motorcycle tire for obvious reasons. They can be patched from the inside but it does require the tire to be removed from the bike. Safest deal is a new tire.

Comment

I had one plugged recently. The tires had only 300 mi. on them when I bought the bike, and I had only put 200 more on them when I picked up a nail. I did not want to spend $ on a new rear tire so I searched here as well. Took it to a shop and had it plugged for like $20. I felt comfortable with this because I am a newb and do not ride my Kat very hard (yet). I think if I were using my knee pucks, I might have just bought a new tire. I have been up to 90 mph like two or three times since and it feels fine.
        Press the attack!

Comment

Stay safe, get a new tire.

Pre 98's Rock!

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?...&id=1593731870

http://www.myspace.com/bobbyma

Comment

I wouldn't want to be doing 90mph if that plug let go.
            Cost of a tire would be far less than what it would cost to repair your bike if you crashed. Could be hard on your body as well...........

Comment

I have a plugged tire on my Kat right now. I have also had many in the past. Do what ya gotta do.
              Ron
              MSgt, USMC (Retired)

Comment

if the bike shop is willing to plug the tire then have it pluged. I have had pluged tires before. It is all up to you.

Comment