X

exhaust mod questions.

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• exhaust mod questions.

I've got a totally stock '96 kat 750 with the stock dual pipes and was wondering what i can do to make it louder. And maybe give it what ever power you can from just exhaust while also not hurting the engine. I've seen other bikes with the mufflers cut off, or different slip on's and the such. But I also heard something about doing jet kits along with more free flowing exhausts dont really know what all is involved or what options i have.
    1996 katana 750

Less compression doesnt always mean more horsepower. If you get a more free flowing exaust and want more power a jet kit or a performance chip may be for you. You can also change the sprocket setup to gain more highend/low end speed depending on the setup.

I am no expert here, but just sitting around reading the topics and the stickies get you really far really fast.

If you just want to go louder, there are plenty of options. I personally am going to be ordering the D&D exaust for the low deep rumble.

Comment

Originally posted by KrAzE View Post
      Less compression doesnt always mean more horsepower. If you get a more free flowing exaust and want more power a jet kit or a performance chip may be for you..

I don't think he said anything about compression.

Katana's don't use performance chips.

Send a PM to Evil TA, he has a full pre-98 Vance and Hines system for sale. You can install an aftermarket slip-on without having to rejet the carbs. Rejetting is optimal, but you don't have to. I run a Vance and Hines slip-on and still run the carbs in stock configuration. If you do anything more than a slip-on (like a better flowing header) you have to rejet.
      02 Katana 600 (weekend toy) 11.892 @ 111.92 MPH
      90 GSXR 750/1216
      96 Chevy S-10 (work truck)
      87 Rear Engine Dragster 8.46 @ 157MPH
      sigpic

Comment