X

GIXXER camshaft; worthwhile swap??

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GIXXER camshaft; worthwhile swap??

I'm looking for some advice from you guys, I know that there are a few mechs regularly on these forums that get to play on bikes for a living. I have 20+ years experience but on automotive and heavy eqpt.
    I did a valve/carb adjustment yesterday and it made a huge difference, most of the valves were within specs, but on the lose side of the specs. I adjusted them to the other extreme of the spec and now that they are tighter it is really breathing. What a huge difference in throttle responce and HP output.
    What is your view on installing GIXXER cams on my 2006 750? I'd like to get a little better performance out of the 750 but I think that if I install GSXR 750 camshafts I will not be able to get enough air/fuel into the cylinders to make it worthwhile. The GSXF carbs have a 36mm bore, and the GSXR has throttle bodies have a 42mm bore. Would re-jetting my carbs be enough? I don't think so, I thing I would be starving the engine of air, end up running rich and would never be able to get the RIGHT set-up.
    The bike;
    2006 750 Kat, brand new out of the crate 29 Feb 2008, 1,600 Km, Mods listed in Sig, no engine/exhaust mods yet.
    I don't want to get too extreme into engine mods at this point, but always want more.
    sigpic'06 750Kat, SCORPIO alarm, integrated turn sigs into smoked LED tail light, gun metal frt turn sigs & windshield, shovel MIA, AMSOIL throughout, TARGA tank cover, PIIA 130Db Sport Horns. 16-45 sprocket set-up

I did gixxer cams in a 1 off engine combo. The head is a 98+ 600. I used 88 GSXR 750 cams. The improvement is a lot of top end. Now I used a FP 98+ 600 Katana jet kit and that works fine. FP is also a lot more tunable then Ivan's and DynoJunk just flat out sucks. So, I know a FP 600 kit is fine, 750 I don't know.
    Last edited by arsenic; 05-04-2008, 01:37 PM.

Comment

head also?