X

attempt at making a seat cowl

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• attempt at making a seat cowl

So I attempted to make a seat cowl out of fiberglass. I for the most part followed the how to on here.

I used the expanding foam in a can calleed "Great Stuff" to form the mold. It had to dry over night because I put it on pretty thick.

Carved the mold with a very dull serrated knife.

It is drying in the garage right now.

This is my first attempt at fiberglass. And I used a "Bondo Fiberglass Repair Kit". It comes with everything you need(I think).

It started pretty good. Then when i was pushing airbubbles out for the second layer it started to "shed" on me and stick to my fingers.( is there a specific reason for this or am i pushing on it too hard?.)

here are a few pictures

I have only used fiberglass to repair a rear hugger. I would guess that you kept trying to form the glass a little too much.

Comment

Fiberglass is a sticky substance at certain intervals of the curing process. Nearly anything you touch to it will get a little of the resin on it. Wear vinyl gloves to keep your hands clean. You'll still get a little resin, but it won't stick to it quite as much imo. Also I use the dull edge of a disposable plastic butter knife to work bubbles out or chopsticks for smaller areas.

Joe
      Some people are primarily positive, others negative. Some argue about whether the glass is half full or half empty. Me? I drink the contents and call it empty.

Comment

Also, you are using the shredded cloth style fiberglass. They also make fiberglass weave mats which you buy. They do a great job and rarely have this issue.
        1991 Katana 750 (GSX750F) 23K miles
        -Mystic Color Shifting Paint (Cyan/Magenta)
        -Corbin Seat

Comment