X

Grinding/knocking sound???

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grinding/knocking sound???

I just purchased this 2002 Katana 600 a few weeks ago for a pretty good price. It has almost 20,000 miles on it and I'm not a bike mechanic but just started yesterday after going on a short trip,appears to be making a knocking or grinding sound coming from the back wheel or near that area. I can't really tell unless I'm in 1st or 2nd gear and riding it. It wasn't to bad yesterday but now its getting noticeably louder and can feel the vibration more. Anyone know what this can be???

Wheel bearings shot, chain too tight / loose, broken teeth on sprockets? Axle in alignment?

Comment

There's a manual available for download - sit walks you through the basic maintenance stuff. It shouldn't new too hard to figure out which of those things it is. A little intimidating perhaps if you're new to wrenching, but at least it doesn't sound like its coming from your engine.
      1998 Katana 750
      1992 Katana 1100
      2006 Ninja 250

2006 Katana 600 RIP - 130k miles

Comment

Ok got a little more time for a more thorough suggestion. Try sticking it Neutral, up on the centrestand, ignition off, put the key in your pocket.

Rotate the rear wheel with one hand, look for the chain slapping the swingarm or kinking up. Check the sprocket for any broken or missing teeth. Check the brake rotor for scuffing from damaged/worn pads. Replace as needed - remember chain and sprockets are a set. DO NOT RIDE until fixed!

Check rear axle for alignment. Some peeps say to ignore the stamped marking on the swingarm as they are innacurate - but I've had pretty good success with mine. You can usually see on your tyre surface if it's really badly aligned - there will be swirly scuffs and unever wear.