Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

How do i change the oil? and wat kind of tools do i need?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do i change the oil? and wat kind of tools do i need?

It's my first time and I have no clue how to oil change and never done that before....

and if My bike's fuel valve was on PRI for more then 5months by previous owner

wat should I do?

do i need to clean the carb? i already put some techron on the gas tank

thx

Well if it the petcock was left on prime immediately change the oil just to make sure that no gas got into the oil. And put the petcock back into the on position (arrow facing down) if you haven't already.

To change the oil take off the lower fairing, which is a total of 10 bolts. You'll want to warm the engine up for a few minutes before changing the oil to help it flow easier and making sure that the bike in on the centerstand (to level it out to get all the oil out) take out the oil drain plug at the bottom of the oil pan. Next take off your oil filter on the front of the engine between the exhaust headers and let that drain out. Now just put the drain plug back in, and a new filter (use oil around the O ring on it to make a good seal) that's been filled with oil on and fill the engine with 3.5L of oil. I use Castrol GPS 10w-40

2002 Katana 600
    1999 Ford F150

Comment

it's 3.8L BTW, thats 4 US quarts

Comment

Originally posted by Brian_M