X

1990 katana 600 gas gauge not working

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1990 katana 600 gas gauge not working

Gas gauge not working on my 1990 katana gsx 600.. Bought it off a friend and he told me it doesn't work.. He said he thinks it might be a short in the wiring.. I haven't checked the fuses so I'm not sure what it is yet but figured I'd get some insight on it from you guys

I would unplug the fuel level sender, then jump the two wires together on the bike side of the harness (yello n black) see if the gauge goes up.

Comment

Cool I'll give that a shot.. Now if this works what should I do after? Sorry I'm still learning about bikes lol

Comment

If it goes up, you know the problem is on the tank side, not much there, two wires and the float level sender. Would have to replace that, unless it's something simple like the connector or wire.

Comment

If that makes the gauge move then the problem is the sending unit inside the tank.

It's not like the gas gauge on these bikes is accurate or anything. You can do just fine by refilling the tank every 120 miles or so and keeping the petcock set to ON. if the bike starts to stutter while you're riding then just turn the petcock to RES and find a gas station.
          Wherever you go... There you are!

17 Inch Wheel Conversion
          HID Projector Retrofit

Comment

Thank you jman and wild bill for the help I'm going to test this out as soon as the weather around here clears up.. I'll keep you guys posted on the out come.. Thanks again for the quick replies
            Last edited by 92Katana83; 05-22-2012, 09:28 AM. Reason: Mis spelled

Comment