X

pre exhaust questions

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• pre exhaust questions

Some of you know I'm a newb and Rebuilding a 1990 600 kat on a budget. Po I believe had a low side incident, something involving a loose rear tire. So the exhaust has been cut off on both sides just after the cross tube. He gave me the slip on muffler off his zx6 that he replaced in case I could use it. Metal work and welding is not an issue for me so I can rebuild it myself. So the question is should (and can) I use the zx6 can and build a 4-1 exhaust or should I just buy 2 new cans. Dont want to rejet the carb but I would have to if I went 4-1 right? And what should I look for in stock replacements? Just looking to get it running so I can ride it, performance is not really an issue. I think I know your advice will be to just replace the stock cans.

Originally posted by y2ktj View Post
    Some of you know I'm a newb and Rebuilding a 1990 600 kat on a budget. Po I believe had a low side incident, something involving a loose rear tire. So the exhaust has been cut off on both sides just after the cross tube. He gave me the slip on muffler off his zx6 that he replaced in case I could use it. Metal work and welding is not an issue for me so I can rebuild it myself. So the question is should (and can) I use the zx6 can and build a 4-1 exhaust or should I just buy 2 new cans. Dont want to rejet the carb but I would have to if I went 4-1 right? And what should I look for in stock replacements? Just looking to get it running so I can ride it, performance is not really an issue. I think I know your advice will be to just replace the stock cans.
    Re-jetting for a 4-1?
    Well you can buy a Katana post 97 4-1 stock system including the oil pan and pickup, or a Bandit system. Plenty of Bandit stainless headers usually available on Ebay.