X

No Crank, No Start.

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No Crank, No Start.

Hey guys, i'm fairly new to bikes, so this may seem a bit rediculous.

i have a 2000 kat 600, just bought, 2100 miles. hasnt been ridden in about a year.

when i picked it up, had a dead battery, and was told that the starter went on it. i bought an ebay starter, which may or may not be good. replaced the battery, replaced the starter with ebay starter, no crank no start. i have 12 down to starter, so i know that there is plenty of power. i notice there is no ground from the starter, so i assume it is case. is there anything i can do to be positive that my starter is at fault before i spend near $300 on one, and find out that is not my problem?

are there any more common causes for this symptom?
    i just want to cover all bases before i start dropping alot of money.

thanks in advance guys

Re: No Crank, No Start.

Originally posted by dsmracer
    i have 12 down to starter
    Where are you measuring this? The cable going in to the starter? If so, then it should only have 12v when the buton is pressed...

Otherwise, there are several interlocks than need to be engaged before the starter will turn. The clutch must be held in, and either the kickstand must be up or the bike must be in neutral. I would say one or more of these switches, or even the starter relay, would be more likely to go out then the starter itself.

The first thing to check though would be the battery. The battery being even a little low / undercharged has been known to cause 'mysterious' problems. You did charge it before you put it in, right? The stock battery does not come pre-charged unless your dealer did it for you.

/kiba
    find / -name "*your base*" -exec chown us:us {} \;

You must realize that someday you will die-until you know that, you are useless

If you can't make it fit with a sledge hammer, don't force it!

Comment

Kiba is generally right on the starter interlocks.