X

What have I bought?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What have I bought?

Hi. I am new to this forum. I am expecting to take delivery of my new 2004 Katana 600 this week. Its my first new bike in 22 years. In 1982 and 1983 I bought a Yamaha XS400 and a DT175. I still have them and ride them each summer.

In 1983 I remember seeing a picture of a Katana 600 in Cycle World magazine and then seeing one at the dealers. I was attracted to the bike, mainly because of the price, I think. But nothing happened and 22 years went by.

A few years ago my job ended due to a corporate merger, and I never rejoined the work force. I am 54 with no responsibilities, and realize that now is the time to enjoy myself. Last year my nephew bought a Yamaha YZF600R and I got to drive it. To me it felt like a jet plane with its power, and like a 10-speed bike with its handling. I had to get a sportbike of my own.

Being a former accountant, I instinctively look at price first. So I focused on the Katana in short time. The bike looks so much like all the other sport bikes that I doubt most non-bikers could tell any of them apart.

The Katana seems to have quite a following, judging from the websites. The bike seems to be popular with young people. Maybe thats because of the price? Yet in its style/design, the Katana seems to be a bit more of a work of art than the other sportbikes. The way the front of the seat starts to climb up against the back of the gas tank. And the gas tank isn't just a simple oval shape, but instead is narrow at the riders knees and wider toward the front. Like the older European bikes, Ducati maybe?

Does anyone know if there is any special design/styling history to this bike?