Best for highway/long distance?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best for highway/long distance?

Hello,

I am new to this whole game and tires are a big, big world of information to digest and sift through.

I am about to embark on a long, long journey on my 2002 Katana and was wondering if some experienced riders wouldn't mind tossing some tips my way via rubber.

I am going to cruise down the west coast from Canada to Mexico on the 101 and then head back up through the mountains, over to Colorado to visit my brother and then not sure where to go after that. But I'll be putting 5000+km on this set and most of it will be highway. I do like the twisties (who doesn't?) but that won't be most of what I am doing.

Michelin Pilot 2CT seem to be out of the question based on reviews, they are awesome tires but not so much for extended highway.

Dunlop Roadsmart II seems legit, any reason not to go with these?

Bridgestone Battlax BT-45 also seems good and bit cheaper than the Dunlops.

I am assuming it's safe to stay away from the "value" brands, like Shinko? Or are they actually ok? (https://www.canadasmotorcycle.ca/shi...rear-tire.html)

Thanks for any and all help!
    2002 Katana 750

Any Michelin PR series tire will run for quit a lot of miles/KM. great traction wet or dry.
    "I'm sorry, I didn't mean to upset you when I called you stupid. I thought you already knew..."
    spammer police
    USAF veteran
    If your a veteran, join the KR veterans group

Comment

Michelin pilot road 4. I ride 100 miles every day commuting to work, so tons of highway. They last. ~20k miles on my last rear, 17k currently on my front, maybe another 2k of life left.
      They have great traction and supurb wet traction. ~$300 for a set. Little pricey, but I think highly worth it.

Also, I commute on 101 from San Jose to Hollister. Let me know if you want some fun roads in the area that still move you further south.
      1998 Katana 750
      1992 Katana 1100