X

Honest question

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Honest question

Just curious as to who here rides without gear on. I will honestly say I always wear a helmet, and a jacket only when it is cold outside. I have gear but hate wearing it, I ride for the feeling of freedom and with everything on I lose that feeling. I have been riding for 23 years on the street, and yes I have been down and will be the first to tell you it sucks and is very painful. But in all honesty if I had to gear up for every ride I would quit riding. If I know that I am going on a very spirited ride I will gear up, but for everyday riding I can't stand it. I know people see me in shorts and a t-shirt and call me a "squid" but I ride responsible and I am a grown adult that knows first hand of the risks involved. Am I the only one here who feels this way?

I'm almost always in full leathers.

When I'm not, the only thing I've traded out is wearing jeans but all the rest of the gear is there. That's pretty rare though.

I've got to this point because of the times I've been down and realized that just a little more gear would have meant no injuries at all for most of them.

Krey
    93 750 Kat

Modified Swingarm, 5.5 GSXR Rear with 180/55 and 520 Chain, 750 to 600 Tail conversion, more to come. Long Term Project build thread http://katriders.com/vb/showthread.php?t=96736

"I've done this a thousand times before. What could possibly go wron.... Ooops!"

Comment

Originally posted by dannyh982 View Post
      I have been riding for 23 years on the street, and yes I have been down and will be the first to tell you it sucks and is very painful.
      I've been down too, so far it hasn't been very painful. All the gear has kept my ass off the ground. If I had to ride without gear, I'd quit riding. Motorcycles are inherently dangerous, if I can mitigate those risks, I feel a little better.
      Pics
      Pics
      No pics yet