X

Hopefully starting to disassemble this weekend

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hopefully starting to disassemble this weekend

any tips, tricks or anything? I've never messed with a bike before. A friend said it's pretty much allen wrenchs, socket wrenches, and plyers to take it apart. Sound about right?
    Me
    http://www.myspace.com/alllostthings

I'm a noob at this stuff too and found this tip helpful...

Buy yourself a box of zip-baggies and as you disassemble take digital pics and separate all your bolts, washers, etc into baggies for different parts of the bike labelling along the way. Place all of these into a box as you dissassemble and then during reassembly you should be able to start with the first baggie and work your way down to the end. That's how I've been doing it and it works great.
    There is no theory of evolution. Just a list of creatures Chuck Norris has allowed to live.

Comment

And you are disassembling?????.........

Comment

I'm disassembeling the 92 Kat 600 you made fun of in the Pics and Flicks thread....with the chain that fell off....
        Me

Comment

I agree with CnC totally on the baggies and boxes concept, I got my 93 600 engine, minus the block, bagged and tagged in seperate boxes.

I recommend that you go to a Home Depot or a Lowes and buy a Pair of Mechanix Gloves. I gave myself a really nasty cut on my hand when I was popping the torque on the cam journals, hand slipped and my pinky ate the lip of the spark plug tube leaving a good chunk of skin behind in the process. (ask Breeze) Bled like a mofo, but hey we all do some stupid stuff in life and this was one of them.

Comment

Originally posted by CCnCoke
            I'm a noob at this stuff too and found this tip helpful...