X

opinions on jet kit....

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• opinions on jet kit....

ok i have a 1997 600 i was just wanting everyones opinion on which one to go with? i was gonna go with dynajet but which stage? i ask the guy at my local shop and he said stay away from stage three....this is my first bike, i dont know too much how to work on them but am wanting to learn i do have a clymer book on it....
    sigpic
    -Cory-
    1997 Katana 600

-see my garage for mods-

'pegs are down for you anytime CP'

i looked around for a bit and i have gotten many more recommendations for factory pro than i did for dynojet.
    i have a factory pro kit on order now

Comment

I'm a dynojet fan for novice mechanics. During my time as a tech, I installed LOTS of these kits, and 95% of the time, their recommended settings are close enough that you don't have to mess with it again. It works right out of the box, first shot.

The factory pro kit is probably a better kit overall, but from what i've seen they are geared more towards "experienced" (minimal experience) carb tuners, who don't mind taking the bike apart 5 times to get it just right.

If you want the best kit, factory pro is it. If you don't know what you're doing and just want it to run good, dynojet works well and I think they're easier.

Stage 3 is for carbs with no airbox and individual pod filters. Don't do it. It kills your bottom end power and your gas milage in exhange for 2 or 3 horsepower at 11,000 rpm. Not worth it unless you're racing.

Comment

Stay away from the DJ kits as the needle leaves alot to be desired as far as midrange calibration.

Go with the Factory pro and you will be fine.

Tmod

Comment

+1 on Factory Pro...

I tried DJ and was not impressed at all.

Be sure to inspect your emulsion tubes for wear when you swap.

Krey
          93 750 Kat