No announcement yet.
X

Test rode a Kat and hated it. UPDATED!

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Test rode a Kat and hated it. UPDATED!

Hi guys,

I have been staring at Katanas for several months now and thinking I want one. It would be my second bike. My current ride is a 1994 Yamaha Seca II XJ600. It's been a great bike to me and I have put on just over 10,000 miles since December. It's my primary transportation and I love it.

I test rode a 2001 Kat 600 this afternoon and it disappointed me but I suspect I know why. Here's where you come in.

The guy that was selling it lowered the stanchions in the fork clamps around 1.5-2 inches, lowering the front-end by simply sliding the fork legs up. Now, I understand a lot about bicycles and how their frame angles and rake affect their handling, but motorcycles and the countersteering throws a new aspect into the mix. The bike was reluctant to turn at all relative to my Yamaha. I really had to wrestle the bars even around slower speed corners. Not nimble at all. My Yamaha is nible as can be and effortless to turn. I was actually frightened of the Kat. It drove great in a straight line, accelerated nicely, shifted much smoother than my Yamaha but handled like, frankly, sh*te.

Is this consistent with your experience with your Katanas or is this front end modification the culprit. I suspect I already know the answer, but wanted to hear it from a few folks.

Thanks to all.

Most definately sounds like the modified front is the culprit. Did you have enough air in the tires as well? What brand of tires were on it too?

A kat may not be as nimble compared to some other bikes, but you hardly have to wrestle with it taking corners. With the proper suspension setup, air pressure and a good set of tires, you should be able to take any corner or set of twisties with confidence and ease.

Comment