X

Shoud I buy this 2006 Katana 600F???

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shoud I buy this 2006 Katana 600F???

I'm brand new to this group. I've come across a 2006 Katana 600F for sale. It has ~8k miles. The guy selling the bike apparently lost his liscense, and can use some money to pay bills. I have only spoken to the seller over the phone, but he told me the bike has a Yoshimura exhaust other than that it's stock. Apparently the basics like tires, chain sprockets fork seals etc are good, but I've not seen the bike for myself. The bike was knocked over, so it has some mnor scratahes. The bike is currently not running, since it has sat most of this year. He put a new battery in recently to try and get the bike started, but he had no luck.

The seller is willling to take $2,200 for the bike. I've owned a Yamaha Radian 600 for a number of years, but I'm no mechanic. This seems like a great deal. I'm hoping the carburaters don't need cleaing.

I appreciate any advice you Kat owners can provide me on whether or not I should purchase this bike, and do any of you have any tips on how I can try to get this bike started.

Thanks!

Sounds like a good deal to me, assuming everything he says is true about the condition of the bike. Im hoping your not gonna buy it untill you have looked at the bike to confirm the bikes condition matches his description.
    Yes it would be worth it, I bought my 02 in decend condition with 14k miles for $2200.

Comment

Try offering 2k even for it. I bought my 2000 Kat for 1750$, and it was in good condition with 10k miles on it. It also has a d&d exhaust, jet kit, new air filter, brand new tires, zero gravity windscreen, custom bar ends, and more. That's a lot of aftermarket stuff and I paid less than you might. Yes, it is 6 years newer, but still. I think it's a good deal, but you might be able to get away with a few hundred less.

BTW, even if he says it's done, clean the carbs anyway. It'll do a world of good.