X

New member, potential Kat buyer

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New member, potential Kat buyer

First off, great website resource here. Now the question: should I buy a 1993 Suzuki GSX 750F and become a Katrider?

To make a long story short, here’s the situation. I have been riding for about 2 years after taking the MSF course. My first and only bike is a 1994 Honda Shadow VLX 600, good clean shape, no dents, 31,000 miles. I purchased if for $500, and put about $1000 into it—new front tire, new brake pads front and rear, new clutch/brake cables, new clutch—all the general maintenance stuff to keep it in good, safe running order.

My buddy/mechanic (he rides a mint condition, custom 1994 Honda CBR1000) has proposed a trade. He purchased the aforementioned Suzuki for his wife last year and she doesn’t really like the fit—too tall for her petite frame. However, since my bike has been parked in their heated garage all winter, she has been eyeing my VLX. Her Suzuki has been well-maintained, fresh paint with flames, no dents, and 23,000 miles.

Obviously, I know the riding position is quite different. I rode it for the first time tonight (25 miles) and would need to get used to the steering/leaning and the completely different responsiveness of the throttle. I only killed it twice…plus, it’s way quicker/faster than the Shadow. Wow!

I enjoyed the cruiser style, but have always been curious about the sportbike/sport tourer format as well. Am I taking a step up? Is it a good deal? Another motorcycle friend said to go for it since it’s a straight up trade. If I don’t like it, I can always sell it before next year’s riding season.

Thanks for the thoughts.

Welcome to KR!
    "If a cluttered desk is sign of a cluttered mind....what then, of an empty desk?"

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref...14&ref=profile

sigpic

Comment

I say ride it some more if you can, get a better feel and determine if the style is right for you.

Krey
      93 750 Kat