Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

Securing/locking a bike in Manhattan (ie:bike thieves haven)

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Securing/locking a bike in Manhattan (ie:bike thieves haven)

I'm new to bikes but I've heard about the vans that rove around NYC grabbing motorcycles and bikes from all over. I'm sure they have cutters and other evil tools of the trade. Where I live/park is safe in NJ but I plan on riding to the city once it warms up. Here come the questions:

brake rotor lock: Worth it? Worth spending extra to get one with an alarm so I dont forget about it and try to ride off with it on?

chains: Are the extreme chains (like Kryptonite Fuggetaboutit) worth the extra money? Do you put the chain through the frame or is a tire good enough?

cover with lock: this sounds like a great idea but #1 its illegal in NYC to cover your bike on a public street, do I need to worry about it getting towed? #2 its a pain to carry. Whats everyone do wear a knapsack with a big ass chain and cover in it or is there such a thing as a cover that fits under the seat?

Anything else worth thinking about?

Personally I would not ride into the city. I grew up in northern NJ and I can’t understand why anyone would ride a motorcycle in NYC.

If you do have to lock it up in the city I would recommend the biggest badest lock/chain that you can get. I would also get one that is brightly colored. That way a potential thief will avoid it. I would also add a disc lock and even an alarm. Nothing will make your bike 100% safe. The object is to make it as hard as possible for them. Thieves usually look for quick easy marks.

I would look into an ABUS chain and lock combo.

Not Found: Lockitt Mobile Security & Accessories

Comment

You're in a rough situation... You don't want to carry 40 lbs of chain with you regularly, but unless you've got that, there's no real security for your bike...

Many questions come to mind: