X

spark plugs..

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• spark plugs..

How easy would it be to replace spark plugs on a 99 kat myself? The local shop is going to charge me 110 bucks for parts and labor .. I have never done it before and i would like to tackle this task myself...
    "Oh I will tag you back !!"

Originally posted by Major Voltron View Post
    How easy would it be to replace spark plugs on a 99 kat myself? The local shop is going to charge me 110 bucks for parts and labor .. I have never done it before and i would like to tackle this task myself...
    Unbelievably easy. Takes maybe 15 minutes start to finish.
    Extra life.

Comment

Yes is ez... just becareful when taking off the fairings.

Comment

do i have to take the tank off ??

Comment

Originally posted by Major Voltron View Post
          do i have to take the tank off ??

yes, the tank must come off. there are a few bolts and a vacuum line and a fuel line. Not hard.

the plugs are on the top of the engine, there is a cross bean that needs to be removed also.

plugs are easy, just take your time and remember what you disconnected.
          2004 Honda ST1300
          1999 Katana 750 (sold)

Comment

Plugs, oil and filter are the absolute "never pay labour" jobs. And once you have done that, you'll discover a whole range of other jobs you will want to do yourself. Bottom line ... it will save you a motza ... and you'll actually do a better job.

Make sure you have the manual handy - and have read the appropriate section.
            Note where things came from and hence return to. (Take photos even)
            Take your time.

Comment

If you're a noob like me mark all piece that you'll take out, print the repair manual I've done this job and its nothing very difficult.
              And don't make the same mistake like I have done buy OEM spark plugs I have orders Iridium and after installed I saw that don't make any difference

Comment