X

My '00 Katana 750 Project Thread!

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My '00 Katana 750 Project Thread!

As many of you guys know I'm new here, but I'm not new to the world of mechanics, and motorcycle riding. I've been riding a Ninja 250 since 2004 and I've maintained it myself too. Like I said in my introduction I bought a model year 2000 Suzuki Katana 750 on May 4th, 2007 for $1,200.00 (USD). It has about 40,800 miles to her name, and has been horribly painted flat black. HORRIBLY!!!! What I hope to accomplish by creating this thread is to have someplace to keep you guys posted on my progress of restoring the Kat, as well as here ask pertinent questions concerning technical issues I may have with my project. Hopefully things move quickly so I can be riding my new bike this season and not next! First pictures of the bike as of right now!

Today (May 7th, 2007) I was able to pull off the fairings and inspect the frame fro cracks, the bike seems to be very solid. In pulling off the fairings I've found a sad truth about this bike, half of everything was fastened down with black tie-wrap. Everything that I thought was loose because of loose screws was really loose because when the schmuck who had the bike before me took apart the fairings he must have lost half the screws. the tail light was installed with one screw holding it down, and the windscreen was fastened in place with a loose tie-wrap. It's a shame he put black paint everywhere including the swing arm, the forks, the carbs and the engine. I tried getting the paint off the tailpipe today, but i could not get the stuff that was baked on. I did manage to clean up that yoshi muffler; maybe I will paint the whole tailpipe black to make it all match.