X

different sounds

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• different sounds

hey all! i have a few questions regarding different sounds the bike should or should not make. i'm new to this so it all may be normal. I'll start of by letting you know that its an 01 600 and the only mods are a Yoshi pipe. o,k here it goes.

when taking off i notice that 1st and 2nd gear seem to make more of a popping noise when engaged as opposed to the other gears. is that normal? also, after getting on it a bit, when i let it coast with out giving it gas while still in gear the exhaust makes a rumbling type of noise kind of like a gargle. is that due to the after market pipe? i was also wondering if when idleling the engines sound should be like a rattle, it almost sounds like a desil. it continous on when riding up to about 2000 rpms then it sounds smooth. whats that about?
    thanks!

The best way is to find another Katana and compare...

The diesel noise could be a handful of different things, from poor oil to a defective cam chain tensioner spring, or the need for a valve adjustment.

The 1st-2nd and 2nd-3rd gear switch sounds to me like you're not pulling in the clutch and letting off the gas before you actively snap the gears over. The bike wants it's upshifts as clean hard snaps with no engine loading when doing them.

Finally, the exhaust noises:
    Burbbling on deceleration is an indication that the idle circuit (controlled by the pilot screws on the carbs) is a bit too lean. Whether this is because your main jets are slightly clogged and need to be cleaned or just because the new muffler made the exhaust leaner (and you should increase the pilot screws by an 1/8th turn) is something I can't tell you. Cleaning the carbs or at least using some fuel system cleaner (like techron) should help you figure it out.

Cheers,
    =-= The CyberPoet
    Remember The CyberPoet

Comment