Meanstrk - December 2005 Katana of the Month
 

Welcome to the KatRiders.com forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   KatRiders.com > Service Department > Katana How-To's & FAQ's

Katana How-To's & FAQ's A forum filled with write-ups, FAQ's, and visual aids for
mechanical & cosmetic modifications to your Katana.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2008, 09:09 PM   #21
Cheriff
Kat Master
 
Cheriff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,692


Sep. 2009 KOTM

Default

Wow... just wow...
__________________
-2000 "750"

Cheriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 05:10 AM   #22
mattjm82
Squid
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 28
eBay ID: mattjm1982

Default

Any updates on this project? I would love to know how this has turned out.
mattjm82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 05:56 AM   #23
TheSteve
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 528

Default

Alright, chapter 3 is here: Tuning!

***NOTE ANY REFERENCES TO HEI, 8 CYL MODE, 2 CYL MODE ARE OBSOLETE. RUN THE MS IN 4 CYL MODE WITH THE REVISED TACH INPUT CIRCUIT ABOVE***

I finally got everything running well enough to take her on the freeway. Still wont ****ing start on its own half the time, but
thats another issue for another day. Prior to today I wasnt about to get autotune or anything like that working correctly. Looking
at the logs I was getting pretty bad tach spikes above 2000rpm. Heres a screenshot from an old log showing this:



Note how you can see the rpm changing rapidly here (over 2000rpm/sec). Clearly this isnt really happening, as the bike wouldnt be
rideable. On the megasquirt-n-spark extra forums (alternative firmware that I'm using) I found a schematic to increase the
accuracy of the HEI tach input. ***Had to remove a diode, resistor, and jumper and connect a new resistor elsewhere.*** Now the tach
is perfectly clean. I have no idea why the signal was so dirty, but either way it confused the hell out of MS at higher RPM. Here is
the "fixed" signal of a different ride:



So heres what we're working with:



The actual tuning of the bikes AFR is done here at the VE table. The numbers are percentages representing how much of the
air/gas mixture actually fills the cylinders. So a 600cc engine at 50% VE is only getting 300ccs of air/gas in the motor in one
cycle. The vertical axis is the manifold absolute pressure (MAP) reading and shows engine vacuum in KPA. 100 KPA is about equal
to atmospheric air pressure at sea level. The horizontal axis is the RPM. So when you open the throttle the engine vacuum drops
to zero (or MAP rises to 100, same thing).




This is the Target AFR table. You tell MS what AFR numbers you want and it tries to hit them by adjusting injection pulsewidths.
This is ONLY useful if you have a wideband. Narrowbands only say "richer than 14.7" or "leaner than 14.7" and they cannot tell the
MS any more than that. With a narrowband system you aim to get fast oscilations between too rich and too lean on the O2
sensor. If youre constantly going between the two a few times a second, your mixture is pretty much dead on. However running
14.7 afr at redline is likely going to melt a piston or two. So no narrowbands for WOT tuning.



This is the MegaLogViewer. It graphs data that Megatune logs while riding, dyno testing, etc. In the main screen you see the 3
graphs showing whatever data you select. To the right you see the VE table for this log. Below the VE table is the AFR target
table again.



Clicking the VE Analyzer button brings you here, where the program checks every record in the log (over 8000 on this 15 minute
ride) and compares the recorded AFR to the target AFR. If they dont match, a new value for the VE table is suggested based on
the "on target" sections of the logs and some math I dont care to explain. It actually works pretty well. This will only be the third
time I've run the analyzer and even after two the bike is perfectly rideable. The only hard part came from the fact that the built in
calculator in megatune didnt like the high redline of the Kat, so I had to draw the initial table from a blind guess.

Thats about it, actually. Tuning an MS system like this is pretty much datalog (ride), analyze tables, burn to the ECU, repeat until
satisfied. With my other projects tuning is a little bit easier. In megatune theres a feature called Autotune, and it runs in real time
instead of going off logs. It's also a little safer to use in that you can see if you go crazily lean since the laptop is sitting on the
passenger seat. You might be able to get it to work with the laptop in the backpack as well, but I didn't want to try it without
being able to see the screen. Heres what it looks like if you want to try that route instead.



Now I just have to get it to start every time. I need an oil temp sensor, but I'm not sure how to do it. I'm thinking about maybe
just gluing one to the outside of the oil pan as I'd rather not drill and tap the aluminum pan. I could also see if I could attach it to
the hot side of the oil cooler but there might be some lag time until it warms up with hot oil being pumped through. Sorry for all
the huge pics, in low res you probably wouldnt be able to see the details. Let me know if you have any questions.

Last edited by TheSteve; 08-22-2008 at 06:07 PM..
TheSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 03:27 PM   #24
TheSteve
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 528

Default

Forgot to mention, if anyone wants a copy of the entire log file to look at just let me know and I'll post it up. The logging software is available for free.
TheSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 04:42 AM   #25
mattjm82
Squid
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 28
eBay ID: mattjm1982

Default

Is there a way to run those logs off of a carb, or is it just for an MS system? Here's another question, any ideah what the difference would be for putting the injectors on a Post Kat as opposed to a Pre? Or should I just leave it alone and find a Gixxer to play with.
mattjm82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 05:00 AM   #26
TheSteve
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 528

Default

The engine is 99% the same on a post, so I would think fitting the throttle bodies would be about the same. The only forseable difference is the throttle cable. And I think you'd have more room to work with under the seat for placing the MS box.

Theres sort of a way to log with carbs. With the wideband, it comes with software to log directly onto a computer (no MS required). The hard part would be assigning a tach and throttle position to the log as well. Just logging the AFR over time would be easy, but pretty pointless since you dont know whats happening at that exact moment in time. A better idea might be to buy the LC-1 package that comes with an AFR gauge. You could mount the gauge to the handlebars and just try to remember where the rich and lean spots are.

The hard part really isnt getting an AFR log, its in the other two signals. While the post does have a TPS from the factory it might be hard to tie into the logging software that comes with the wideband. Same for the tach.

http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/products/lc1.php

Check that out. It looks like the TPS and RPM should be able to be adapted to the logging software pretty easily. I'd advise shopping around a little bit, you might be able to find a better price.
TheSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 10:23 AM   #27
ATOMonkey
Kat Daddy
 
ATOMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,442

Default

Steve, I know your fuel rail doesn't leak, but is there a standard NPT tap and union that could use there? I have no idea what the ID on the GSXR fuel rail is.

Also, the oil pressure dummy light sensor should be a good place to tap into for a temp sensor. All you'd need is some kind of T fitting and put the dummy light sensor on one end and the temp sensor on the other.

Good idea, dumb idea??
ATOMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 10:35 PM   #28
TheSteve
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 528

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOMonkey View Post
Also, the oil pressure dummy light sensor should be a good place to tap into for a temp sensor. All you'd need is some kind of T fitting and put the dummy light sensor on one end and the temp sensor on the other.

Good idea, dumb idea??
Holy ****, thats perfect! I'm even running one of those on my other car, I can't believe I forgot about it.

As for a fitting on the fuel rail, I'm not quite sure. The ID is very small. Probably about a quarter inch or less.The OD is a more reasonable size for an adapter but youd have to grind it perfectly smooth for a metal adapter to seal correctly.
TheSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 10:48 PM   #29
FastJetta97
Knee Dragger
 
FastJetta97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: OKC
Posts: 646

Default

dang man..... that looks like a ton of work but its SWEET..... cant wait to hear the final conclusions on it all when its totally done and see what its like...
__________________
THE EMAIL BANDIT
F4 I stunted out
Cbr900 (low and stretched)
MK III Jetta VR6 TURBO.....

Previously 93 Katana 750....
FastJetta97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 10:33 AM   #30
ATOMonkey
Kat Daddy
 
ATOMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,442

Default

Standard NPT tap sizes are .250 NPT and .190 (or #10) NPT.

You could also drill and tap the ID out to whatever size is next up on the chart, like a 3/8 or 5/16 NPT. Maybe something to do in the down time. I'm just a little leary of heater hose as an HP fuel line, for safety sake.
ATOMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

  KatRiders.com > Service Department > Katana How-To's & FAQ's

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My '00 Katana 750 Project Thread! VidGameKing Pics and Flicks 41 06-17-2008 10:00 PM
Definitive answer on warning decals? Motormike Bodyshop 16 01-01-2008 09:22 PM
OFFICAL red katana pic thread KatanaKris Pics and Flicks 60 09-29-2007 12:16 AM
Definitive Answer on the electrical output of the 05 Katana The CyberPoet Suzuki Katana Talk 1 10-15-2005 01:44 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Katriders.com, Copyright ©2004 - 2017

Like Cigars? Check out Vitola.org