Ride In Peace Marc
 

Welcome to the KatRiders.com forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   KatRiders.com > Service Department > Katana How-To's & FAQ's

Katana How-To's & FAQ's A forum filled with write-ups, FAQ's, and visual aids for
mechanical & cosmetic modifications to your Katana.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2008, 07:44 PM   #11
TheSteve
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 528

Default

***HEI STUFF IS OBSOLETE***

Heres a pic of the HEI module with the wiring going to it. I forgot to include it earlier.



I just got back from riding around the neighborhood again. Everything is running pretty well but I need to redo the TB sync. I did it while cold, and once the heat expansion takes place in the throttle plates it messes up the sync. Other than that the only issue is I cant get autotune to engage. I think its not working because of the rough idle.

EDIT: I might also be having some problems with the RPM signal again. The MS is reading very high numbers and it might be messing with tuning. I need to get a shop tach to make sure both the Kat tach and the MS tach are working. I know one of them is wrong, but I dont know which. Probably the MS tach.

Last edited by TheSteve; 08-22-2008 at 06:04 PM..
TheSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 06:39 PM   #12
TheSteve
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 528

Default

Just retuned and went for a ride. The low end feels much smoother and more powerful now, but its still dying right at 6000 rpm. I need to do more research on the HEI, im almost certain that's at fault. It's looking very likely that this will NOT ever work on a 2.2 board without substancial modification to the bike. I have a feeling that since its designed for an old V8 the HEI can't handle going faster than 5-6000 rpm. I have another MS with a 3.0 board on the shelf, ill give that a shot as soon as I have a chance. Im going to try taking the bike through emissions tomorrow even on the bad tune.
TheSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 09:23 PM   #13
Astro4x4
Kat Champion
 
Astro4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,043
eBay ID: Astro4x4

Default

Might need to go with an MSD HEI module to run the higher RPM.
__________________
2000 Katana 600
2011 Triumph Sprint GT
__________________________________________
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find ya handy."
____________________________________________
Astro4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 10:56 PM   #14
TheSteve
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 528

Default

Maybe. Id like to ditch the hei unit altogether though, I think it would be a much easier and cleaner install without it. I wish I could just use the damn tach signal from the CDI. That would make things so much easier. Using the stock VR signal would be a close second though.

edit, just thought of something. On the chevy engine there would be 8 cylinders instead of 4, so even if the units max rpm is 6000 on a V8 it would get me 12000 on a 4 cyl. Maybe the HEI just doesn't like the shape of the suzuki trigger wheel.

Last edited by TheSteve; 07-03-2008 at 10:56 PM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
TheSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 12:47 AM   #15
TheSteve
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 528

Default

Wait I think I got it. Completely overlooked one of the most basic facts of the katana ignition system: the signal generator is driven off the crank, not the cam. This means its getting twice the rpm signal it should. Also explains why it cuts at 6k but runs nice below that. Its exponential. If the engine is rotating at 10rpm, the computer reads 20. Error of 10 rpm, not bad. At 6000rpm though it reads 12000 rpm. Error of 6000 rpm and is pulsing the injectors fast enough so that they probably don't even open. The proposed solution? Set ms to run an 8 cylinder engine. This will expect 8 pulses from the signal generator per cycle (2 revolutions). This should fix it and I can get to tuning it. I don't get off work till 1am so I'll let everyone know if it worked tomorrow.
TheSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 03:29 PM   #16
TheSteve
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 528

Default

Sweet, 8 cylinder mode did the trick! The tach in MS is now within ~120RPM of whatever the Kat tach says. Revs much smoother and now will go above 6000rpm. Todays plan is to take it for a ride, come back and resync the throttles, then maybe go for another short ride with the laptop in the backpack. Of course its the 4th so the emissions place and DMV are closed but I might be able to get a temp tag. If not then tuning will have to wait and I'll have to stick to parking lots again. I hate arizona sometimes. It's so hot out, and just to **** me off we are the ONLY state in the US to require emissions testing for bikes.
TheSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 04:27 AM   #17
TheSteve
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 528

Default

Mini update, tomorrow I need to get a USB extension cable so the MS can reach the laptop while its in a backpack. The tune is still really rough, especially after leaning it out for emissions. It'll pull strong up to 7000RPM where it starts coughing and choking, but now the throttle response is pretty bad. Still isnt bad for never having the tuning software running while riding.
TheSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 06:55 PM   #18
TheSteve
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 528

Default

Alright, got a nice long usb cable and took a ride with the laptop. Rode around for a good few miles while datalogging, and got some good info out of it. I gunned it hard and got it up to about 9500 rpm but it was coughing the whole time above 7500. Logs show it peaked at 21:1 AFR!! That explains quite a bit.

In the logging software theres a mode to analyze the VE tables vs the actual logged AFR and correct as needed. I ran that mode just now and it made some massive corrections. Of course, somehow its raining right now (even though it was over 105* an hour ago..) so I cant play with it anymore today. Looking forward to tomorrow though.
TheSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 05:38 PM   #19
TheSteve
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 528

Default

Few updates just to let you guys know I'm still here.

I got my license after passing the MSF course yesterday, so now I can try it out on freeways. The bike is still an epic ***** to start. Cold starts and hot starts need completely different settings and I'm having trouble getting them to work correctly. Without a CTS I have to manually put it in "first start mode" and it adds more fuel. This works fine for a true cold start but it doesnt like when the engine is warm but not hot. I'm getting closer, though I still keep jumper cables in the backpack just in case...

You'd see much more progress but its so damn hot here (and humid now too) that I just can't bring myself to work on any of my projects during the day. Stupid Arizona. I can't wait for winter.

Anyway, apart from hard starting I have zero complaints about the system. I'll keep updating as I progress.

Edit: I forgot to mention what first start mode actually is. Its a "carburatorism" of sorts, like a choke. You turn the ignition on, and pump the throttle 3 times before hitting the start button and MS will multiply the cranking fuel by an adjustable percentage. This could be done away with by using an oil temp sensor wired into the coolant temp input on MS.

Last edited by TheSteve; 07-26-2008 at 05:41 PM..
TheSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 06:07 PM   #20
GytRDunKat
Kat Legend

 
GytRDunKat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 6,533

Default

Thanks for the updates! Looks like it's going in the right direction. Congrats on the MSF course.
__________________

New to Katriders? Click Here!
GytRDunKat is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

  KatRiders.com > Service Department > Katana How-To's & FAQ's

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My '00 Katana 750 Project Thread! VidGameKing Pics and Flicks 41 06-17-2008 10:00 PM
Definitive answer on warning decals? Motormike Bodyshop 16 01-01-2008 09:22 PM
OFFICAL red katana pic thread KatanaKris Pics and Flicks 60 09-29-2007 12:16 AM
Definitive Answer on the electrical output of the 05 Katana The CyberPoet Suzuki Katana Talk 1 10-15-2005 01:44 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Katriders.com, Copyright ©2004 - 2017

Like Cigars? Check out Vitola.org