X

To tweak or not to tweak

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To tweak or not to tweak

I have been driving my 750 Kat now for 2 years and have racked up 18,500 km. I have started to undergo cosmetic changes to the bike and have been thinking of putting the stage 1 jet kit and new slip on muffler. My question, is it worth it? Would a new muffler help with performance, or does it just make the bike sound different. I am a female rider, always on the bike alone, with no intention of ever taking the front wheel off the ground.
    Biker chicks know how to ride.....

Getting a new muffler is definitely worth it. A slipon is mainly for sound and looks but gives marginal if any performance enhancement....but that won't matter since the new sound will make you think you've got more power. It'll feel like a whole new bike.
    You probably will only need a jet kit if you got a full system though. After getting my Yoshimura, I'd never go back to stock.
    Good luck in your decision.
    Suzuki Katana: The best underated motersicle in da woild

Comment

IMO, the stage 1 was a waste of my money. The -1 sprocket up front offered way more bang for the buck and it's not just for wheelies, but it accelerates a HECK of a lot faster.

The slip on is great for sound, I noticed NO power improvement but then again, I guess the power improvement comes at 8K RPMs plus and I'm not up there much.

We did a -1 on my wife's 600 as well and it made a major improvement to that bike too. Much more getup and go. You can't beat the price either - it should run you under $20.
      Matt

If you think you don't need a helmet, you probably don't.

Comment

Tweek it baby!!
        Welcome to KatRiders.com! Click here to register

Comment