X

Need some fork seal, fork oil help

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some fork seal, fork oil help

I've been reading on here about how to replace the seals and oil and such. I'm working on a 97 600, and I have the wheel, and calipers off. I don't see anything that resembles a drain plug near the bottom of the fork. Not too sure what's going on with that.

At any rate, this is my first time working on a bike, so I'm learning a lot, but could use some help as well.

I guess I have no idea if the forks that are on there are stock. I would assume that one wouldn't change the forks, but who knows.

Anybody in the Detroit area want to give me some guidance and enjoy some beer?

I have the same questions. I also have a '97 600 and don't see any drain plugs on the forks like the manual says. I'm also not sure on how much fork oil to put in. Should I be able to see fork oil near the top of the fork when I remove the cap bolt? Any suggestions would be great thanks.

Comment

the allenhead bolt on the bottom of the fork will drain the oil , as well as the top if you invert them , the bolt on the bottom is a bit hard to get off , i removed my forks from the bike , placed in a vise , remove the bottom bolt , pumped out all the oil , (don't lose the copper washer on the bolt ), after this i removed the dust seal , the clip ring , and used the whole assembly like a slide hammer , you can just pump it apart and the oil seal will separate and come out , with a little force), i refilled my forks from the bottom , backwards of what the book said and used 1 1/4 pvc pipe to drive the new seal on( do this before you add oil ) , put in 16 ounces of oil, and i was good to go, worked for me , granted its not by the book , but it took 30 min.

Comment

if there no drain bolt on the side take the fork off pop the cap off and pour it out and they hold 480ml of fluid so 1/2 a qt bottle 1 bottle for both forks