Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

*Self Install or Shop Install* SELF DEBATE !

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• *Self Install or Shop Install* SELF DEBATE !

Hello All,

I recently ordered a Vanes and Hines exhaust and a Factory Pro stage 1 jet kit, Last week I installed the complete exhaust system, it was pretty easy, I installed it in like an hour or so. I felt pretty good after that.

Now I had not anticipated on installing the jet kit myself, I got a quote from the cycle shop in my area (Free-State Cycle) and they quoted me $550.00 USD and another shop quoted me like $650.00.

Now this is like my first bike, (The bike I had before was a Yamaha FZR 600) which I never put on the road so I sold it.

In the past, I was an auto mechanic for a dealership and worked on cars and trucks, rebuilding engines and transmissions but got tired and switched careers to Network Engineering (Way more money and less knuckle breaking ) that was over 12 years ago, showing my age now .. LOL

I have been debating for the past couple of days, Install the jet kit or pay a cycle shop to do the work. even though I have worked on cars I have never had to overhaul a carb. From the looks of it, it does not seem to be hard, but if I pay to have the job done, I know it will be right and have a warranty as well.

If I get up the guts, I may spend this Sunday breaking it down and installing the jet kit saving me some money.

Oh, I forgot to mention, its a GSX600F, the pilot jets are dirty because the bike will not idol without the choke being on so
    I know I will have to remove the pilots and clean them as well.

Thoughts Anyone ?

It's not just removing the pilot jets. It's completely disassembling the carbs (to get all the rubber bits out of the way) and soaking the carb bodies in solvent. You see, it's not just the jets that get gummed up, it's all the little, bitty passages going to and from the different parts of the carbs.