Fiberglass

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fiberglass

Few Questions:
    I am looking into making some new fairings for my bike. What are some tips anyone may have? I have heard use felt instead of the fiberglass cloth. I am planning on having some way to support the farings from the back also so they do not vibrate too much while riding. has anyone ever done this. I am thinking about making a big sheet from the tank to the bottom of the bike. I know I am probably getting way over my head but what else is there to do when it is 0 degrees outside and 3 feet of snow. I have 6 months until the snow melts so I do plan on taking my time.

Thanks for any input you guys may have.

Winter Project:
    2002 Katana 600
    -Buell Seat
    -Custom Swingarm?
    -Custom Fairings?
    -Major Cleaning of everything

I've never used felt before, but I've used a lot of fleece (like sweatshirt material). It's stretchy, so it's easier to make a form with it. For strength, you want to use either chopped or woven mat, though. If you do source your supplies from a marina, see if they have stuff called "air-core" or something like that...... it's like a plastic honeycomb, with fiberglass mat on either side. It's really great for making stuff out of, it's easy to work with, and the finished product is REALLY strong.
    Any and all statements by Loudnlow7484 are merely his own opinions, and not necessarily the opinion of Katriders.com. Anything suggested by him is to be followed at your own risk, and may result in serious injury or death. Responses from this member have previously been attributed to all of the following: depression, insomnia, nausea, suicidal tendencies, and panic. Please consult a mental health professional before reading any post by Loudnlow7484.

Comment

I usually use fiberglass cloth but I have used fleece for sub box building. both work great, but the fiberglass cloth will form better is its just being layed on a piece and resin over top.