X

Tell me what gear I want...

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tell me what gear I want...

Hey kids...I've been riding for 22+ years, and have been pretty much squidding it besides a leather jacket in the colder weather. Most bike shops around here totally suck and don't have ANY gear to speak of, so that is one reason I haven't added a 2nd skin. The other is cost...I think the last I checked a full set of leathers was $1000 or so. That doesn't bother me much now...so I should probably get something.

I have NO IDEA what kind of gear I should get. I tend to run hot - so my concern is heat in the Summer. I simply won't wear leather if it isn't vented enough to be cool...but I sure as heck don't wear shorts or flip flops either when it is hot. If I am too hot while riding - I'm pissed off & distracted and that to me is dangerous. I think leather would be fine for the Winter and cooler months, but what do you guys do in the Summer? Composite-type gear?

I'll be riding the 1100 and my KLR650 as long as there isn't snow on the ground. (anybody running heated grips?)

Please school me in the ways...I have zero gear experience besides investing in really good helmets over the years.

PS - I saw the http://www.motorcyclegear.com/ reference and don't mind spending ducks there to benefit the group. I just have no idea what I need.

A good mesh jacket will keep you cool in the summer as long as you are moving. It keeps the sun off of your skin but lets the air through. If you build up just a touch of sweat then you start to cool off nicely.
    Back on 2 wheels
    2001 GSF600S Bandit

Comment