Katriders 2010 SoCal Rally
 

Welcome to the KatRiders.com forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   KatRiders.com > Service Department > Mechanics 101

Mechanics 101 Can't get it to run right? Find a trick to add HP?
From the first oil change to completely rebuilding the engine,
this is the place to talk about the heart of the beast!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2012, 05:51 PM   #1
davekat
Rookie
 
davekat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 71
iTrader: (0)

Default What do you plug a tank with when derusting?

Hey folks,

It's yer problem child back again with more questions on his Katana. So, I'm working on derusting the tank, now that I've located the culprit for my dirty carbs. Took the tank off, took out the float, filters, petcock, everything. It's a straight on, vanilla tank. So, I'm going to set up the electrolysis deruster, and I got a bunch of questions.

When using a battery recharger, when I test it with my voltmeter, there's no voltage, unless it's attached to a battery. I guess when I insert the electrode, it should still function correctly?

And the main question,

How do you seal the bottom holes?
davekat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 06:00 PM   #2
Kreylyn
Kat King
Supporting Member
 
Kreylyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Weaverville, NC
Posts: 14,779
iTrader: (24)
eBay ID: Kreylyn

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davekat View Post
Hey folks,

It's yer problem child back again with more questions on his Katana. So, I'm working on derusting the tank, now that I've located the culprit for my dirty carbs. Took the tank off, took out the float, filters, petcock, everything. It's a straight on, vanilla tank. So, I'm going to set up the electrolysis deruster, and I got a bunch of questions.

When using a battery recharger, when I test it with my voltmeter, there's no voltage, unless it's attached to a battery. I guess when I insert the electrode, it should still function correctly?

And the main question,

How do you seal the bottom holes?

1. Battery charger or power source must be NON-automatic. If it's an auto battery charger (shuts off when fully charged) then it will just not work as it's turning off immediately.

2. I leave everything on the tanks when I do the electro process. So it's sealed. The only thing I remove is the cap/lid so it's not in my way and fill from the top like normal. I use a 2 liter coke bottle or funnel to insert the electrode and bend it into an S shape so I get more in and it doesnt' touch the tank.

Krey
__________________
93 750 Kat



Modified Swingarm, 5.5 GSXR Rear with 180/55 and 520 Chain, 750 to 600 Tail conversion, more to come. Long Term Project build thread http://katriders.com/vb/showthread.php?t=96736

"I've done this a thousand times before. What could possibly go wron.... Ooops!"
Kreylyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 12:12 PM   #3
davekat
Rookie
 
davekat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 71
iTrader: (0)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kreylyn View Post
1. Battery charger or power source must be NON-automatic. If it's an auto battery charger (shuts off when fully charged) then it will just not work as it's turning off immediately.

2. I leave everything on the tanks when I do the electro process. So it's sealed. The only thing I remove is the cap/lid so it's not in my way and fill from the top like normal. I use a 2 liter coke bottle or funnel to insert the electrode and bend it into an S shape so I get more in and it doesnt' touch the tank.

Krey
Would a 5-12 volt constant powersupply do the trick then, or do I need a current?
davekat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 04:30 PM   #4
Kreylyn
Kat King
Supporting Member
 
Kreylyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Weaverville, NC
Posts: 14,779
iTrader: (24)
eBay ID: Kreylyn

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davekat View Post
Would a 5-12 volt constant powersupply do the trick then, or do I need a current?

You can make a computer power supply work for this even, as long as it's constant.

Your question is a bit confusing though... if you have voltage you should have some kind of current flowing...

Krey
Kreylyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 09:42 AM   #5
hardlydangerous
Kat Legend
 
hardlydangerous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,096
iTrader: (1)
eBay ID: hd-motorsports

Default

The POR15 kit is so easy and simple...
__________________
98 GSX750F
95 Honda VT600 vlx
08 Tsu SX200

HardlyDangerous Motosports
hardlydangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 07:33 AM   #6
Kreylyn
Kat King
Supporting Member
 
Kreylyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Weaverville, NC
Posts: 14,779
iTrader: (24)
eBay ID: Kreylyn

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hardlydangerous View Post
The POR15 kit is so easy and simple...

I agree 100% but...

I still prefer the electrolysis process on heavily rusted tanks and in my experiance get a much better over all end product with the por-15 that way.

Krey
Kreylyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 09:32 AM   #7
Opu$
Squid
Supporting Member
 
Opu$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kreylyn View Post
I agree 100% but...

I still prefer the electrolysis process on heavily rusted tanks and in my experiance get a much better over all end product with the por-15 that way.

Krey
You probably know this already. Even if you perform electrolysis it is wise to coat the tank unless you keep it full.

I have found swishing around ball bearings and Varsol to break up any rust and then use the Por 15 kit works great. I actually had a leaking tank. Por 15 will actually converts the rust as well.

Good luck.
__________________
Keep the black part down and the shiny part up.
Opu$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 02:20 AM   #8
Nameduser
Skid Mark
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Gainesville tx
Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Default

Where can you get the POR15 around Dallas at?
Nameduser is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

  KatRiders.com > Service Department > Mechanics 101

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coil Pack/Plug wires/Plug cap woes TL;DR at bottom sonosam Mechanics 101 2 02-11-2012 07:19 PM
fuel tank/ air tank HELP and info usmckatana Mechanics 101 6 03-29-2011 10:44 PM
My electrolytic derusting went horribly wrong nedfunnell Mechanics 101 10 01-07-2011 11:32 AM
94 Kat6: Tank on idle 3-4K tank off fine redciv1 Mechanics 101 10 07-13-2009 12:29 PM
Spark Plug & Plug Wire Question doubledscar Mechanics 101 1 08-15-2005 05:01 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Katriders.com, Copyright ©2004 - 2014
Katriders.com | Promote Your Page Too