Katana of the Month  September 2008  mreedohio
 

Welcome to the KatRiders.com forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   KatRiders.com > Service Department > Mechanics 101

Mechanics 101 Can't get it to run right? Find a trick to add HP?
From the first oil change to completely rebuilding the engine,
this is the place to talk about the heart of the beast!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2012, 12:54 PM   #11
thearbear1990
Rookie
 
thearbear1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: otsego
Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)

Default

ok thanks so much I have been running it on prime this whole time is that bad for it?
thearbear1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 01:02 PM   #12
chrisx2
Track Rider
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 819
iTrader: (0)

Default

Could flood your carbs out and if allowed to run dry on prime, may end up in allowing undesirables from the bottom of your tank into your carbs....
__________________
2004 GSX750F
chrisx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 01:05 PM   #13
thearbear1990
Rookie
 
thearbear1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: otsego
Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)

Default

thanks for the info I just cleaned the tank and carbs now I have to sync them but dont really know what im doing. I dont have the money to pay a shop to do it. I want to ride!
thearbear1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 01:18 PM   #14
djdaredevil
Tank Slapper
 
djdaredevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Zeeland MI
Posts: 424
iTrader: (3)

Default

Kreylyn has a right up on how to make the tool and kind of how to use it hit the search button or go through his posts
djdaredevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 01:32 PM   #15
ejether
Poser
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: nowhere
Posts: 65
iTrader: (0)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dany_cya View Post
2. yes, set AF first, sync after
Really?
That's never how I've done (not that I've been doing it right),
By why not synch first?

The pilot screw setting shouldn't affect vacuum but how the carbs are synched will affect your ability to set the pilot screws right???
ejether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 01:49 PM   #16
thearbear1990
Rookie
 
thearbear1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: otsego
Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)

Default

ok thanks again I will look it up on how to sync the carbs and see how it gos.
thearbear1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 02:51 PM   #17
Jarvo
Katrider
 
Jarvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 122
iTrader: (0)

Default

Hi mate this vid should help you

Last edited by Jarvo; 03-21-2012 at 04:25 PM..
Jarvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 03:11 PM   #18
arsenic
Captain Metric
Supporting Member
 
arsenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 60505
Posts: 20,004
iTrader: (234)
eBay ID: arsenic1016

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejether View Post
Really?
That's never how I've done (not that I've been doing it right),
By why not synch first?

The pilot screw setting shouldn't affect vacuum but how the carbs are synched will affect your ability to set the pilot screws right???
Okay, lets think about this. You get the carburetors all back on, installed and squared away. You sync them. Then you pull them back off, adjust the A/F screws and throw them back on. By syncing them and than taking them back off, you just destroyed everything you did by syncing them.
__________________


A dealer of rebuilt Katana carbs.
Partly Chris's Motorcycles
A rebuilt set of carburetors will cost more than $5 dollars
DREAM Katana

arsenic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 04:12 PM   #19
ejether
Poser
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: nowhere
Posts: 65
iTrader: (0)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arsenic View Post
Okay, lets think about this. You get the carburetors all back on, installed and squared away. You sync them. Then you pull them back off, adjust the A/F screws and throw them back on. By syncing them and than taking them back off, you just destroyed everything you did by syncing them.
I see!
There's the difference. I set my A/F screws while the carbs are on the bike.
That being the case, no reason to resynch.

I get the reasoning now though, thanks arsenic.
ejether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 04:18 PM   #20
arsenic
Captain Metric
Supporting Member
 
arsenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 60505
Posts: 20,004
iTrader: (234)
eBay ID: arsenic1016

Default

Yeah, if you don't remove the carbs, you don't need to resync. If it's done with the carbs on the bike, it doesn't matter.
arsenic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

  KatRiders.com > Service Department > Mechanics 101

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
89 problem Twiztid7Juggalo Mechanics 101 9 10-05-2010 08:33 PM
Petcock Problem or Carbs Problem general Mechanics 101 14 06-26-2008 01:00 PM
battery problem/charging system problem pickleman04 Mechanics 101 4 08-03-2006 10:59 PM
what could be the problem? SEQX34 Mechanics 101 4 04-21-2005 11:06 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Katriders.com, Copyright ©2004 - 2014
Katriders.com | Promote Your Page Too