PDA

View Full Version : manual choke on a post 98 set of carbs?


chinto
04-05-2007, 12:36 AM
does anyone know if it is possible to put a manual choke (from a pre 98 ) set of carbs on a post 98 set of carbs or do you need to use the cable?

md86
04-05-2007, 03:36 AM
Huh :scratch ? Um , both have a "manual" choke . I don't think I understand what you're getting at :thinking .....

chinto
04-05-2007, 07:31 AM
ok so they are both manual.

pre 98 no choke cable

post 98 choke cable.

right now I have a pre 98 and need some carbs...have a line one some post 98 carbs, but don't want to use a clucth cable.

Black_peter
04-05-2007, 07:58 AM
OK I get it..
Pre 98 cable.
Post 98 cable
1988 600, knob..
I think you're on your own here..
Unless Ron can compare the parts for you..

Please remember that your bike is different than most Pre 98s..

steves
04-05-2007, 08:13 AM
OK I get it..
Pre 98 cable.
Post 98 cable
1988 600, knob..
I think you're on your own here..
Unless Ron can compare the parts for you..

Please remember that your bike is different than most Pre 98s..

I don't get it. Do the 88's have the choke in a different spot?

Black_peter
04-05-2007, 09:09 AM
They have a knob at the carb..

steves
04-05-2007, 09:32 AM
Oh. Suckage. I guess you could relocate it with a newer set of carbs, and a new control pod.

Black_peter
04-05-2007, 11:25 AM
yup, or the spot where the cable attches to the choke rail is pretty standard. I actually used the cable from the under seat latch for a while. A wire tie before that!
:lol:

So any cable that has a ball or barrel end and has some sort of friction device to hold the knob out would work.
I like the knob. It's a cleaner design IMO..