PDA

View Full Version : Cleaned carbs, and now it does not start!


VORTEX1212
03-21-2007, 07:14 PM
:D Followed carbs 101, basically cleaned carbs, replaced worn out o-rings on carbs floats, and assambled everything just the way it was, I checked and needles were adjusted at 2 turns open, so when I re-assambled the needles I set them back at 2 turns open. Whats really strange is that engine turns as usual, there is spark at plugs, and all carb float housings have fuel (I opened up drain screws and fuel was present) but the engine does not start at all :cry: , nothing, just like there was no fuel at all. I smelled the mufflers and it smells to carburator cleaner that I used, so I think there is no fuel getting to the pistons, now, I belive it must be a problem common to all carbs as it makes no attempt to start. What should I re-check? Could it be that somehow the float needle settings on all carbs got disturbed? What do you think guys? Thanks a lot for your useful help as usual! :wink: Harry

steves
03-21-2007, 08:18 PM
You set the petcock on PRIme for about 30 seconds before attempting to start?

The battery has at least 12v?

Are the carbs seated correctly on the intake boots?

Vac leak? Left a cap off?

VORTEX1212
03-21-2007, 08:27 PM
I just left the bike sit there for 1 hour, when I came back suprise! she started right away! :lol: But.... :? now she idles at 1500 and i noticed thart she was reving up to 1900 and back to 1500, all in a systematic method, I touched the exhausts and noticed no. 1 was only warm, and the rest 3 were hot already, and I left to run for a while and the same situation was present, what do you think? :roll: Thanks!

Special K
03-21-2007, 08:36 PM
What did you set the float heights at and how did you set them?

Sounds like # 1 may not be firing or getting sufficient fuel............

steves
03-21-2007, 08:37 PM
Fouled plug on #1, or a leak. Try spraying some WD40 around the carb boots.

VORTEX1212
03-21-2007, 08:48 PM
I just opened that up, replaced o-rings and put it together.... whats the easiest wat to set it right?? my kat is a 93 750 thanks

md86
03-22-2007, 03:51 AM
Plug change . 1 ain't firing . THAT'S why it started after letting it sit for an hour . Had wet gas on it and wouldn't fire till it dried , and now may need to be changed . Carbs will want to be synched now ,too . That will cause a fluctuating idle .

Wade-Kat600
03-23-2007, 02:11 PM
as will air mixture - but you cant set those till you sync the carbs

nathan
03-23-2007, 02:52 PM
I had to adjust the idle a lot after each time I messed with my carbs. You did adjust the idle right?
Were you careful with the pilot screw turns? There's a section in the repair manual for float height adjustment too.
Air leak from the boot not being seated could easily cause that like the others said, so check the boots before the plug.