PDA

View Full Version : kat ram air?


Built4Speeed
03-04-2007, 01:14 PM
the other day i was trying to think of a way to fabricate some sort of ram air intake on my 04 kat. first i thought about taking out the panel for the parking light (right above the headlights) but i though that would look like crap and the routing would be to indirect to get much from it. Another idea i had that might actually work is taking out the front turn signals and putting in a mesh form to keep debris out. i could then put flushmount signals elswhere and route an induction back to the airbox. the only problem would be getting passed the fins on the aircooled engine... thers not alot of room. maybe if i went through one of the holes in the fairings then under the seat? any ideas/comments/suggestions?

Spedee
03-04-2007, 01:43 PM
A member did this in Europe.

Built4Speeed
03-04-2007, 02:06 PM
any idea what it involved? seem like it will need a lot of modding to the airbox.... which member did it?

KatanaSoldier
03-04-2007, 02:10 PM
That would be awesome to see.

Spedee
03-04-2007, 02:21 PM
I think masrapido's or someone he knows. I think. (Spain)

Built4Speeed
03-04-2007, 02:23 PM
thnks ill pm him

md86
03-04-2007, 06:37 PM
I think masrapido's or someone he knows. I think. (Spain)
That's not Mas's bike . He has a black pre in semi-rough shape .

The CyberPoet
03-04-2007, 08:49 PM
If I recall correctly, one of our Aussie members did something like this before (3 years back now?), but he actually reshaped the underside of the gas tank to provide the channel he needed to route the air back to where the airbox actually is...

Cheers,
=-= The CyberPoet

brooder
03-04-2007, 08:55 PM
http://www.katriders.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=351807&highlight=ram+air#351807

KatanaJim
03-05-2007, 01:39 PM
I'm not sure if ram air is worth the trouble to make it work. These bikes seem to be very sensative to air flow. Mine didnt run right until I gave it less air flow (via stock filter)