PDA

View Full Version : high idle issue 00 750


smoubara
02-25-2007, 04:43 PM
hi all.
my poor kat has been under a cover in the garrage for 2 months now. i took her out and fired her up. the idol was normal. once i reved her up the idol wouldn't drop below 2500. so i pulled the needles out and cleaned them, and made sure the choke was off, put new gas, and took her for a short ride. no change. if i shut it off and restart it idols normal, but if i rev it past 1500 it jumps to 2500. before i put it away i did a valve adjust. i haven't synced the carbs yet. dunno if that would have such an effect. checked for vac leaks. so i think i need to either sync the carbs or check my valve clearences for being too tight. any ideas before i waste ogals of time?
thank you

Teh_K
02-25-2007, 07:56 PM
I would try the carb sync first.

If you actually made adjustments to the valve clearances, that would affect/change the sync of the carbs - even if they were sync'd before the valve adjustment.

Anonymous
02-25-2007, 08:01 PM
Lube the throttle cable and mechanism on the carb?

smoubara
02-25-2007, 08:31 PM
i checked the cables. and am gonna buy another sync tool. i had to leave my other one behing when i moved this summer due to the mercury. thanks for the input. i will keep u updated!

KatanaSoldier
02-25-2007, 09:47 PM
Did your check your choke cable? Is it sticking? Move the cable back and forth (not with the switch) and see if it makes a difference.

md86
02-25-2007, 11:50 PM
Here's what I'D try first .....
Get you some Techron , drop some in ther , lower the idle adjuster ALL the way down , and go for a nice long ride . The theory .... you got some crap in your carbs , and dropping the idle all the way out ENSURES the cleaner gets to that circuit . If that don't work ..... well , time to dig a lil deeper .

Sasquatch
02-26-2007, 01:24 AM
I'm sure you did this, but I'm going to ask just to be sure. did you adjust the idle with the idle adjustment knob on the left side of the carbs?

smoubara
02-26-2007, 10:41 PM
choke cable pushed closed manualy on carbs,
idle adjust screw adjusted.
want to ride but bike feels a little to unstable for me (novis rider) .
i purchased a new set of sticks to sync and i guess i'll try that.
is it even possiable for a bad sync to do that?

The CyberPoet
02-27-2007, 12:12 AM
Not normally.
This is a problem you get from only three things:
1. binding or too tight throttle cables. Easy to test -- remove the cables at the handlebar, then see if it still does it.
2. minor vacuum leak, such as a cracked vacuum nipple cover or a disconnected airbox drain hose. Spraying WD-40 around the area with the engine running should tell you (the idle will suddenly change if some of the WD40 makes it into a leak).
3. fuel-starved jet passages (because of fuel residues that remain behind when the fuel evaporates). The techron MD86 suggested will address that issue. Happens on every bike I buy (because the owners always haven't ridden it in eons), and techron always fixes it right up.

Cheers,
=-= The CyberPoet

smoubara
03-01-2007, 10:47 PM
new tool just arrived. will report with reasults

smoubara
03-04-2007, 07:39 PM
well, the sync wasn't off that much, i pulled the cover and the valves are spot on. sooooo i guess that leaves the carbs. took em off and cleaned them out. it got a little better. so i got techron like you guys said and went for a short ride. just about rite. prob 1 more ride and it should be cleared out. thanks.

md86
03-04-2007, 07:44 PM
So it sounds like it WAS the pilot circuit , then . And you got it under control now . Cool 8) .

steves
03-04-2007, 07:59 PM
Is the choke getting stuck? Try lubing them.