X

Naked Kat?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Naked Kat?

Sexy right? Well, I am a new rider and recently got a nice yellow '03 600 Kat from eBay. Thanks to my mad Noob skills, I already drop it twice. The damage is not that bad but the fairing has taken a beating. I was thinking about just taking the fairings off and ride it naked. Has any one done this already or knows how that will look like?

Appreciate any input! Thanks in advance.
    WHAT MAN? I am a NOOB

That was most people that wreck do

Comment

I have seen a couple of naked Kats. One was TOTALLY naked- only bodywork was the tank- all the plastic was gone. IMHO, Kats don't look good naked- the bike was designed to have bodywork, and anything you take off looks quite obviously, well, missing.

You could go that way till your skills improve. If you have decided you are the naked type, I would suggest a Bandit 600, which is already naked and looks just fine that way.
      "Stevie B" Boudreaux

I ride: '01 Triumph Sprint ST

Projects: Honda CB650 Bobber projects I, II and III

Take care of: 81 Honda CM400,72 Suzuki GT550

Watch over/advise on: 84 Honda Nighthawk 700S (now my son's bike)

For sale, or soon to be: 89 Katana 1100, 84 Honda V45 Magna, 95 Yamaha SECA II, 99 GSXR600, 95 ZX-6, 84 Kaw. KZ700, 01 Bandit 1200, 74 CB360.

Comment

Naked + drop = brusted up fram rails. I'd say keep with the ghetto fairings til your skills get up there and then swap out for some fresh Maier plastics and it'll be a brand new bike.

Comment

there are a couple on here that aren't totally naked, but some of the fairing cut away, and they look awesome. I'll try and find the thread, its a pre 98, but you might be able to do something similair.
          None of us are as dumb as all of us.....

“To do what ought to be done, but would not have been done unless I did it, I thought to be my duty.”
          -Robert Morrison

"