Metzeler RoadTech Z6 vs Pirelli Diablo Strata

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Metzeler RoadTech Z6 vs Pirelli Diablo Strata

Hello KatRiders,

I know that there are numberous postings related to both of these types of tires and also tire sizes but I've found it hard for me to combine all of this data together to make a final decision so I figured I'd post and see what you all have to say.

I recently picked up a 1999 Katana 600 with a very cupped front tire which needs to be replaced. After reading up I see that the Macadems are junk and that I should go ahead and replace both tires with something better. I've gathered that the majority favorite is the Z6, however it seems that the Diablo Strata is VERY similar to it and made by the same people.

I'm a poor college guy and I can pick up the Diablo Stratas for $19 less than the Z6s. So as far as everyone knows... would I be wise to go for the cheaper ones? I'm fairly new to riding and want something that I can feel comfortable learning to carve some corners on without the paranoia of losing traction (which I feel quite a bit with my current crappy tires). I do not want to get something that is overkill though that will wear out in a single season because I can't afford to keep getting new tires.

I'm pretty sure I'm stickign with the stock sizes (120/70/17 | 150/70/17) but I really do love the look of the wider tire and dont plan on riding in any heavy rain. I will be doing a decent amount of 2up riding with my fiance also. Any feedback would be great as I plan on ordering the tires this afternoon. Thanks.
    I'm completely in favor of the separation of Church and State. My idea is that these two institutions screw us up enough on their own, so both of them together is certain death. - George Carlin

Join the Zietgeist Movement
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...3847743189197#